$22.00 License Requirements: Juveniles younger than 14 years of age are not required to purchase a license, except to hunt or trap bobcat and otter; but, they must complete the Trapper Education course and register to receive a brand number through the Salem Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) office. Landowners must obtain a free license to take furbearers on land they own and on which they reside. To receive this license, the landowner must obtain from ODFW a receipt of registration for the location of such land prior to hunting or trapping furbearing mammals on that land.
By action of the 1985 Oregon Legislature, all trappers born after June 30, 1968, and all first-time Oregon trappers are required to complete an approved trapper education course. The course is not required of persons trapping on land owned or leased by that person, the person's immediate family, or a person's agent who is controlling damage to livestock or agricultural crops. The course may be completed at home. Testing will take place at Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) offices throughout the state. A furtaker's license will be issued by the Salem ODFW office after the test has been successfully completed and mailed to Salem. Course materials are available by writing or telephoning Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Trapper Education, 3406 NE Cherry, Salem, Oregon 97303, (503) 947-6018.